And the Oscar Goes to…

I have always been mesmerized by the entertainment industry. I love to think about the process, the way a production comes together, with each person adding their part to create the finished product. And I don’t only mean the actors. I mean everyone, backstage, pre-production, and post-production, too.

I used to watch the Academy Awards from start to finish every year. This year, I was sleeping. (It was 3AM in Jerusalem when the ceremony aired live in Los Angeles.) There was a time when I would stay up to watch. But real life set in, and so did the need to get up early in the morning for work.
While I have more responsibilities now, I still love the performing arts and “The Biz.”
Today, I work with entertainers and artists, including actors, singers, and directors. I call them “my stars.” I help them prepare for auditions and participation in English language films, performing English songs, English media interviews, press conferences, and film production in other countries. I work with them to ensure they sound as intelligent in English as they do in their first language, Hebrew.

I also work with people who don’t work in the entertainment industry. And I also call them, “my stars.” When you deliver a presentation or a speech, you need to be a performing artist, no matter in what industry you work. If you are planning to speak publicly, what you need is passion. One could argue that passion is only needed if you are trying to persuade your audience to believe something or do something. But isn’t every speech a charge to action? At the very least, aren’t you trying to persuade the audience to pay attention to you? To listen? To remember your message?

When we have something to say, we hope to engage our listeners long enough to hear us, to pay attention. But passion? Really? Even if we are trying to convince coworkers to use more paperclips? Actually, yes.

Passion in our words helps convince our audiences that we believe that what we have to say is important, worth being heard, and perhaps even worth resulting in action. You may be ready to give an impassioned speech on the benefits of legalizing marijuana for medicinal purposes, especially if you have seen it help a loved one, but how are you supposed to infuse passion into more mundane topics?

That’s where your star power comes to play. You may know that your point is important, but you may not feel impassioned about it. And that’s where we all, professional actors or not, employ a level of acting. Within moderation, a certain energy level, which we express through variation in volume, pitch, acceleration or decceleration of our rate of speech, hand gestures, facial gestures, to name a few, helps us to express passion. And that passion can often help us inspire, move, affect, and touch our listeners. I am sure that we don’t always feel passionate about our presentations. I know I don’t, at times. But if we can conjure our acting chops (skills) to infuse our presentations with some passion, that’s how we become stars.

So, I actually refer to all my clients as “my stars.” When we invest the right energies in our communication, the sky’s the limit.

Leave a Reply

